CINCINNATI, OH – Dozens of Congressional and state candidates this week launched a coalition to “Support Fellow Progressives” with a two-hour event on Twitter. The candidates’ “tweetathon”-style event Thursday evening was amongst the top 10 most popular conversations on Twitter throughout the U.S.

The progressive tweetathon served to highlight the candidates’ policy differences from Democrats who solicit corporate PAC donations, and four of the participants were Democrats challenging prominent members of their own party in primaries:

  • Alexandria Ocasio, challenging top fundraiser Rep. Joseph Crowley in New York
  • Tim Canova, taking a second shot at the Florida seat of Debbie Wasserman Schultz, the disgraced former chair of the DNC
  • Jesse Sbaih, who is battling the influence of former Sen. Harry Reid to win a Nevada primary that would position him to become the first Muslim American in the Senate
  • Stephen Jaffe, the 46-year trial law veteran and parrot lover who’s challenging Rep. Nancy Pelosi in San Francisco

The event was spearheaded by the campaign of Sam Ronan, the OH-01 Congressional challenger and founder of Our Voice who ran for DNC chair earlier this year.

“Tonight we had Greens, Dems, and even a progressive Republican tweeting in unity to support this progressive coalition,” said Ronan. “This is how we take the Bernie movement into every one of our communities and win.”

The candidates tweeting under the hashtag “SupportFellowProgressives” were largely united by support for single-payer healthcare and “The People’s Platform” put forth by the post-Sanders presidential campaign organization Our Revolution.

Ronan said members of the loose coalition would continue to bring in others and to provide an online “signal boost” for progressive campaigns that often lack the resources of establishment rivals.

“Tens if not hundreds of thousands of people engaged with our Twitter event on Thursday,” Ronan said. “And this is just us and the grassroots – we don’t need corporate control of a party to tell us who the progressives who support our issues are, and together our voice is powerful.”

The event included grassroots candidates from across the country, in both urban and rural districts:

  • Samuel Ronan – OH-01
  • Amy Vilela – NV-04
  • Stephen Jaffe – CA-12
  • Tim Canova – FL-23
  • David Hildebrand – U.S. Senate, CA
  • Tom Prigg – PA-12
  • Nathan Arroyave – IL-16
  • Paul Clements – MI-06
  • Jesse Sbaih – U.S. Senate, NV
  • Cori Bush – MO-1
  • Topher Brennan – U.S. Senate, CA
  • Sema Hernandez – U.S. Senate, TX
  • Jenny Marshall – NC-05
  • Gayle Mclaughlin – Lt. Gov, CA
  • Mal Hyman – SC-7
  • Darlene McDonald- UT-4
  • Aaron Godfrey – OH-16
  • Alexandria Ocasio – NY-14
  • Pat Harris – U.S. Senate, CA
  • Ali A. Khorasani – TX-02
  • J. Darnell Jones – TX-02
  • Adrienne Bell – TX-14
  • Sarah Smith – WA-09
  • Michael Milisits – OH-10